Payday loan laws in Florida

  • Status: Legal (Fl. Stat. Ann. §§ 560.402 et seq.; Rules 69V-560.707, 69V-560.901-912)
For Lenders

Lending specifications:

  • Maximum loan amount: $500
  • Loan tenure: 7-31 days
  • Fees and finance charges: 10% of check + verification fee (max $5)
  • Finance charge on a 14-day $100 loan: $16.11
  • APR on 14-day $100 loan: 419%

Collection restrictions:

  • Collection fees: The charges imposed on the lender by any financial institution; lender not entitled to assume any damages.
  • Criminal procedures: Prohibited
For Borrowers

Debt limits:

  • Maximum no. of outstanding loans at a time: Single
  • Rollovers allowed: None
  • Cooling-off phase: 24 hours
  • Repayment plan: Available

Complaint cell:

  • Regulator: Florida Office of Financial Regulation
  • Address: Division of Securities and Finance, 200 E. Gaines Street Tallahassee FL 32399
  • Phone: (850) 410-9805
  • Fax: (850) 410-9748
  • Website: http://www.flofr.com/default.htm
  • Complaint cell: https://www.flofr.com/sitePages/fileacomplaint.htm


Last Updated on: 22 Oct 2018

  • expertise badge
  • This site is verified as a Trusted Site by Best of the Web
  • TrustLink logoTrustLink logo
  • Customer ratings on BBB
  • IAPDA logo
  • Calchamber Member
  • Calbar Registered
  • D&B
  • Godaddy
  • yelp logo