Payday loan laws in Delaware

Legal status: Legal (Permitted under small loan act or licensing law)
(Del. Code Ann. Tit. 5 2227 et seq.)

For Lenders

Lending specifications:

  • Maximum loan amount: $500
  • Loan tenure: Maximum 60 days
  • Fees and finance charges: Not specified
  • Finance charge on a 14-day $100 loan: No limit
  • APR on 14-day $100 loan: No limit

Collection restrictions:

  • Collection fees: One fee for nonpayment if the contract allows but should not exceed 5% of the payment amount.
  • Criminal procedures: Prohibited
For Borrowers

Debt limits:

  • Maximum no. of outstanding loans at a time: Not Specified (cannot have more than $1000 in total)
  • Rollovers allowed: Four
  • Cooling-off phase: Not specified
  • Repayment plan: Not specified

Complaint cell:

  • Regulator: Delaware Office of the State Bank Commissioner
  • Address: 555 E. Loockerman Street; Suite 210 Dover; DE 19901
  • Phone: (302) 739-4235
  • Fax: (302) 739-3609
  • Website: https://banking.delaware.gov/
  • File complaint: https://banking.delaware.gov/consumer-complaints/

Updated on:

Was this page helpful?

  • expertise badge
  • This site is verified as a Trusted Site by Best of the Web
  • TrustLink logoTrustLink logo
  • Customer ratings on BBB
  • IAPDA logo
  • Calchamber Member
  • Calbar Registered
  • D&B
  • Godaddy
  • yelp logo