State and federal debt collection regulations will govern you if your account is placed in collections. When it comes to borrower protections, things are a little different for residents of Arkansas.
The FDCPA does not apply to creditors in Arkansas. Therefore, you are only covered by the law if the lender employs a third-party debt collection agency to collect the debt.
The State Board of Collection Agencies may revoke, suspend, or refuse to provide a license to a debt collection agency if they are found:
(a) (1) The State Board of Collection Agencies will order a hearing to be held after receiving evidence of any infraction.
(2) At least twenty (20) days before the hearing, all interested parties must be informed of the time and location of the hearing.
(3) The board can call witnesses, question them in person, obtain information through affidavits and depositions, and demand business records relevant to the allegations against any accused offender.Back To Index
The FDCPA does not apply to creditors in Arkansas; therefore, you are only covered by the law if they employ a third-party collection agency to collect the debt.
Properties are protected for up to $2,500 in value when you look at the homestead exemption in the state, which establishes how much equity in your property cannot be subject to a judicial decision. Additionally, car equity is only protected in Arkansas for up to $1,200.
You would be exempted up to $800 (if single) or $1,250 (if married) if your bank received a court order to levy your account; anything over that would be subject to collection. This law applies to any bank account with your name, even if you are a co-account holder. Therefore, those who think their accounts could be susceptible to levies should withdraw from joint accounts to preserve their assets.
Then there are wages: Arkansas citizens are well protected from wage garnishment, which is when money is deducted from your paycheck rather than your bank account. There is a 75% exemption for residents of Arkansas. After necessary deductions, including federal, state, and local taxes, are deducted, along with Social Security, unemployment, and disability taxes, the percentage is computed.
Except for specific issues like paying back arrears in taxes or child support, voluntary deductions like retirement and health savings account (HSA) payments are excluded. The final 25% would be deducted from each paycheck until the loan is paid off. Nevertheless, because it is such a small percentage, the 75% exemption does reduce the likelihood that a debt collector will sue you.
You should also be aware of another exception to the wage-garnishment rule. If your weekly take-home pay is $217.50 or less, your wages cannot be withheld even if your debt is turned over to collectors.Back To Index
Creditors can file a lawsuit against you within the statute of limitations (SOL) period. They can also file a lawsuit after the SOL period is over. But the court will regard the debt s time-barred.
The statute of limitations in Arkansas is five years from the date of default for written contracts. However, a written acceptance of default or partial payment will restart the statute of limitations period.
Credit card debts are subject to the five-year statute of limitations that governs written contracts, and this is so because agreements involving credit cards are based on written contracts.
Domestic and foreign judgments have a ten-year SOL period beyond which they can be extended.
The SOL period for medical debt is two years, and auto loan debt is four years.Back To Index
Almost 30% of states in the United States permit debtors to go to jail for unpaid debt. The steps involved in being detained for outstanding debt are as follows:
You fail to pay your bill in the first step, the creditor sues you in the second, skip court in the third, and the court directs you to pay the debt or appear in court for a hearing in the fourth.
In the fifth step, you decide to disobey the court's order and act accordingly. In that case, you can be sent to jail in contempt of the court's order.Back To Index
The federal wage garnishment statute is typically followed in Arkansas. When an Arkansas creditor garnishes your pay, it can only take a maximum of 25% of your earnings in most cases. Until the debt is paid in full or you take action to stop the garnishment, such as filing a claim for an exemption with the court, the creditor will continue to deduct money from your paycheck.Back To Index
Debt collectors may harass you until you pay the whole amount owed, but they are typically allowed to negotiate a reduced payment of 15 to 35 percent less than the total debt.
Debt collectors won't voluntarily let you know that the debt's statute of limitations might have already passed. Before knowing that information, it is crucial to refrain from making any promises to the caller.
Debt collectors cannot call you while you are at work. You may be able to claim under the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act if they continue to call after you have instructed them to stop. The collector may be liable for your costs, legal expenses, and damages. A claim under the FDCPA has a one-year statute of limitations from the alleged date of a collector's breach.
Debt collectors won't inform you that the FDCPA also forbids them from calling between 9 p.m. and 8 a.m., using profanity, or threatening to have you arrested.Back To Index
People in Arkansas who are heavily in debt do have debt relief options for assistance. Additionally, the law offers some rights to people who must deal with collections, protecting debtors from outside collection agencies and easing the burden on those concerned about wage garnishment. The ideal debt relief strategy will ultimately depend on your specific situation, but attending a No-obligation Free Debt Counseling session, for example, can help you determine the best option.Back To Index