Payday loan laws in Hawaii

  • Status: Legal (For check cashers only) (Hawaii Rev. Stat. Ann. 480F-1 et seq.)
For Lenders

Lending specifications:

  • Maximum loan amount: $600
  • Loan tenure: 32 days
  • Fees and finance charges: 15% of check value
  • Finance charge on a 14-day $100 loan: $17.65
  • APR on 14-day $100 loan: 459%

Collection restrictions:

  • Collection fees: $20 NSF fee; check cashers can't recover damages from checks passed instead of insufficient funds.
  • Criminal procedures: Prohibited (Unless check returned due to closed account or stop-payment state)
For Borrowers

Debt limits:

  • Maximum no. of outstanding loans at a time: One
  • Rollovers allowed: None (can't refinance or consolidate)

Complaint cell:

  • Regulator: Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs
  • Address: Consumer Resource Center, 235 S. Beretania Street, Rm 801 Honolulu HI 96813
  • Phone: (808) 587-3222
  • Fax: (808) 586-2640
  • Regulatory contact: Bruce B. Kim, Executive Director
  • Website: http://hawaii.gov/dcca



BBB-A--Rating